Ormeval provides decision-support intelligence derived from public sources. It is not investment, medical, legal or regulatory advice, and states nothing about the value of any security. Forward figures are deterministic model estimates, not guidance.
Kisqali (ribociclib) · CDK4/6i · Novartis
This page covers the HR+/HER2- ADVANCED/METASTATIC indication only, the whole MONALEESA program (MONALEESA-2 1L+AI, MONALEESA-7 pre/peri +ET, MONALEESA-3 +fulvestrant). It EXCLUDES the Kisqali NATALEE adjuvant (early-breast-cancer) indication, which is a separate, later pool modelled on its own page (do NOT double-count). See all Kisqali indications →
Fulvestrant is the named combination partner and is label-binding. NDA 209092/S-001 (18 Jul 2018) approved fulvestrant 'for the treatment of POSTMENOPAUSAL WOMEN with HR-positive, HER2-negative advanced or metastatic breast cancer, as initial endocrine based therapy or following disease progression on endocrine therapy.' That restriction was removed by NDA 209092/S-019, signed 22 Jul 2024, which expanded it to 'the treatment of ADULTS'. The scope is therefore BROADER than the row's bare '(+ fulvestrant)': current SPL 1.2 covers fulvestrant 'as initial endocrine-based therapy or following disease progression on endocrine therapy', i.e. both 1L and post-progression, in adults with no menopausal restriction. The 18 Jul 2018 action is the SAME action that granted the MONALEESA-7 expansion, so the two rows share an action date. OVERLAP: MONALEESA-2, -3 and -7 all support this one section 1.2 indication.
Shared model · 4 pages
2025 net revenue · modelled metastatic slice
$1.72B
CONCLUDED · 2025 modelled net revenue - indication slice, all markets; Novartis reports no indication revenue. Whole modelled scope (1L HR+/HER2- advanced/metastatic breast cancer), not this setting alone
No model change since the 20 Sep 2026 snapshot.
The 15-second read
MONALEESA-2 is the trial that made ribociclib the only CDK4/6 inhibitor with significant overall survival in first-line postmenopausal disease, 63.9 versus 51.4 months, HR 0.76, against a class originator whose own 1L OS never reached significance. Commercially that argument has not rescued the modelled metastatic line, which peaked at $1.84B in 2023, stands at $1.67B in 2026 and falls to $508M by 2034 as US generic ribociclib enters from about 2031. The single live question is what happens to palbociclib's large installed 1L base when its main US patent lapses around March 2027: ribociclib is positioned to take that share on OS and tolerability, but a generic incumbent is a cheap incumbent, and price rather than evidence may decide where those patients land. The honest read is that this is a mature franchise whose survival advantage arrived after the prescribing habits were formed.
Threats land:Generic palbociclib becomes the cheap default first-line CDK4/6 inhibitor after its ~2027 US patent lapse, so ribociclib's OS advantage fails to convert into share and the metastatic line falls faster than modelled into its own ~2031 gate.
Modelled path:Ribociclib holds and modestly gains branded first-line share while class economics deteriorate, leaving the metastatic line drifting from $1.67B in 2026 to about $1.38B in 2030 before generic erosion takes it to $508M by 2034.
Levers land:Guidelines increasingly weight survival data in first-line class selection, ribociclib converts a meaningful part of the released palbociclib base, and the pre-LOE years flatten rather than decline.
Ribociclib's branded uptake within the first-line CDK4/6-treated pool, an Ormeval scoping estimate of intra-class share, deliberately separated from the class-reach gate, and the figure most exposed to generic palbociclib pricing after 2027.
At a glance
Mechanism CDK4/6i
Clinical
Commercial
Development to approval
These are regulatory approval dates (FDA/EMA/NMPA/PMDA), not commercial launch; launch follows after pricing & reimbursement (see the access-lag column in the HTA table). All four regulators have approved this indication. Cross-checked against Novartis disclosures and regulator databases.
Kisqali is the CDK4/6 inhibitor that won the overall-survival argument in metastatic disease, three significant OS trials (MONALEESA-2/-7/-3) where the class originator palbociclib (Ibrance) has none. That OS edge, combined with a more favorable cardiac/tolerability profile than palbociclib, is the reason Kisqali is the fastest-GAINING CDK4/6i in metastatic share, taking 1L patients directly from generic-eroding Ibrance while Verzenio holds. The metastatic franchise is the proof-of-concept and revenue base that funded the NATALEE adjuvant expansion (the larger forward growth driver, modelled separately). The forward question for THIS metastatic indication is how long Kisqali can keep compounding share gains against Ibrance before its own ~2031 composition-of-matter LOE caps the franchise.
HR+/HER2- advanced/metastatic breast cancer, ~⅔ of all breast cancer, is the largest endocrine-driven oncology setting, and a CDK4/6 inhibitor + endocrine therapy is the entrenched 1L standard. Ribociclib (Kisqali) is the CDK4/6i with the STRONGEST and most consistent overall-survival evidence: MONALEESA-2 (OS 63.9 vs 51.4 mo, HR 0.76), MONALEESA-7 (premenopausal OS HR 0.71) and MONALEESA-3 (+fulvestrant OS 67.6 vs 51.8 mo, HR 0.67) all hit OS significance, uniquely in the class. That OS edge plus a more favorable cardiac/tolerability profile vs palbociclib (Ibrance) is driving intra-class share GAIN: Kisqali's metastatic business has grown from ~$2.1B (2023) and keeps taking metastatic share from Ibrance (declining) while Verzenio holds. This page sizes the metastatic MONALEESA program only, modelled ~$2.5-2.7bn (2025) rising toward a late-decade plateau before the ~2031 LOE, and EXCLUDES the separate NATALEE adjuvant slice.
HR+/HER2- is the dominant breast-cancer subtype (~65-70% of all breast cancer). In the advanced/metastatic setting, de novo Stage IV plus distant recurrence of earlier-stage disease, endocrine-sensitive patients receive endocrine-based therapy as first line, and the practice-defining shift of the 2010s was adding a CDK4/6 inhibitor (palbociclib, ribociclib, or abemaciclib) to the endocrine backbone (an aromatase inhibitor in the 1L AI-naive setting; fulvestrant in 2L or in MONALEESA-3). CDK4/6-inhibitor penetration of 1L HR+/HER2- mBC is now very high (~80%+) in access-rich markets. The three CDK4/6 inhibitors SPLIT this single metastatic pool; the modelled denominator is the same ~150-200k-patients/year 1L+AI-eligible base used for Ibrance/Verzenio, and Kisqali's revenue is its (rising) share of it.
The MONALEESA program established ribociclib across HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer and uniquely delivered a SIGNIFICANT overall-survival benefit in every trial, the differentiated clinical signature of the franchise. MONALEESA-2 (Hortobagyi, NEJM 2016 PFS; NEJM 2022 final OS) added ribociclib to letrozole in postmenopausal 1L disease: PFS 25.3 vs 16.0 mo (HR 0.57) and final median OS 63.9 vs 51.4 mo (HR 0.76; p=0.008), at the time the longest median OS ever reported in HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer. MONALEESA-7 (premenopausal +ET) showed an OS benefit (HR 0.71), the first CDK4/6i OS win in pre/perimenopausal women. MONALEESA-3 (+fulvestrant) showed OS 67.6 vs 51.8 mo (HR 0.67). FDA granted the 1L +AI approval in March 2017. This consistent OS story, absent for palbociclib (PALOMA-2 OS not significant), is the engine of Kisqali's metastatic share GAIN and the basis for its later NATALEE adjuvant win.
1L selection requires confirmed HR+ (ER and/or PR) and HER2-negative status and endocrine sensitivity (AI-appropriate). The class-level differentiator at the guideline level is the OS evidence: ribociclib's consistent significant OS (MONALEESA-2/-7/-3) vs palbociclib's non-significant OS (PALOMA-2) increasingly steers 1L choice toward ribociclib, the main competitive tailwind for this franchise.
MONALEESA-2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase 3 (n=668; 1:1) in postmenopausal women with HR+/HER2- recurrent or metastatic breast cancer, no prior systemic therapy for advanced disease. Ribociclib 600 mg/day (21 days on / 7 off, 28-day cycles) + letrozole 2.5 mg/day vs placebo + letrozole. Primary endpoint PFS; OS a key secondary. The whole MONALEESA metastatic program: MONALEESA-7 (NCT02278120; ribociclib + ET ± goserelin in pre/perimenopausal women) and MONALEESA-3 (NCT02422615; ribociclib + fulvestrant) extend the same HR+/HER2- advanced population to additional menopausal/line settings, all three delivered significant OS.
Load-bearing 6/7 sourced. ASSUMED uptake is yours to change.
This indication only, not Kisqali's total revenue
First-line endocrine-based therapy for HR+/HER2- advanced/metastatic breast cancer, ribociclib (a CDK4/6 inhibitor) added to an aromatase inhibitor (letrozole) in MONALEESA-2 (postmenopausal 1L), to endocrine therapy in pre/perimenopausal women in MONALEESA-7, and to fulvestrant in MONALEESA-3. All three MONALEESA trials sit in the SAME HR+/HER2- advanced/metastatic population, so this single model sizes the whole metastatic program. The franchise's distinguishing feature is its CONSISTENT, statistically significant overall-survival benefit across all three trials, the strongest OS evidence in the CDK4/6 class, which (with a more favorable cardiac/tolerability profile vs palbociclib) is driving intra-class share GAIN in metastatic disease. The separate NATALEE adjuvant (early-breast-cancer) story is modelled elsewhere and excluded here.
Reported actuals are always drawn and need no chip: a cited reported figure is a fact, not a claim. Everything forward of them is one of the 4 kinds above.
$1.65B
8 modelled markets (US, EU5, JP, CN) · modelled net revenue · 2026 (forecast)
Peak $1.81B · launch 2017 → 2034
modeled history (left of today)·click any year to decompose its funnel below.
Measured band: none - no measured band: n<8
Bull / bear elsewhere in the product are a sensitivity (fixed multipliers), not this band.
Pre-2026 figures are MODELLED (no indication by country actuals are reported) and calibrated to Novartis' reported Kisqali franchise, NETTING OUT the NATALEE adjuvant slice to leave the metastatic MONALEESA business. Total reported Kisqali: ~$2.1B (2023, essentially all metastatic), ~$3.0B (2024), ~$4.8B (2025), but the 2024-25 growth is increasingly the NATALEE adjuvant launch (FDA Sep 2024), which this page EXCLUDES. The METASTATIC-only line this page sizes is smaller: it reflects ribociclib's share of a pool the three CDK4/6 inhibitors split, so with entrenched Ibrance and Verzenio present the modelled metastatic slice runs ~$1.8-1.9bn (mid-2020s), Kisqali holding roughly a quarter to a third of the Western in-class pool while GAINING share from generic-eroding Ibrance, before the ~2031 ribociclib LOE. The metastatic branded share is deliberately held to a plausible level (not the whole reported franchise, which the NATALEE adjuvant inflates). The 'today' marker splits modelled history from forecast; the forward curve is MODEL-BASED.
No reported anchor exists at this grain: companies publish this asset as one product line and never split it by indication × country, so every year above is modelled, including the years already past. The claims below are scored against reported actuals wherever a program has them.
A forecast year closes when an actual is reported for it. A miss is the distance from that actual, signed as the claim fell: under it, or over it.
| Claim | Closed years | Worst miss | Worst miss % |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ormeval modelMODELLED · Ormeval · live | - | no closed year yet | - |
A superseded team version keeps its own row: what it was off by is still a fact about that version. A row with no closed year is not a good score.
What it shows. A modelled base-case net-revenue curve for this indication, year by year, split at 'today' into modelled history and forecast, with the branded curve shown against its in-class rivals.
What to look for. The peak year and how steep the decline is after loss of exclusivity, and where a rival's curve crosses yours, that crossing is the share the model has you losing.
Common misread. Reading the pre-'today' portion as reported actuals (it's modelled), or treating the base case as a company target. It is one deterministic Ormeval-modelled scenario anchored to cited actuals, not guidance and not analyst consensus.
Key model assumptions · The softest inputs are the intra-class share trajectory and the assumed per-market net prices; the underlying subtype gate (HR+/HER2- at roughly 65–70% of breast cancer) is verified, but the advanced-fraction and endocrine-sensitivity gates are estimates, and the whole history is a modelled split of a franchise reported only in total.
The decline is defended, not certain
The steep late-decade fall is tied to US ribociclib composition-of-matter exclusivity around 2031 (Japan ~2032), which is a solid anchor; the softer part is the 2024–2030 drift, which assumes the metastatic slice shrinks even while the model's own commentary calls ribociclib the fastest-gaining agent in the class.
What would change our mind
If, in the two years after generic palbociclib becomes widely available in the US from around 2027, ribociclib's share of new first-line CDK4/6 starts does not increase, the OS-driven share-capture thesis is disproved and the pre-LOE line should be modelled lower; conversely, if branded 1L CDK4/6 volume holds up against generic palbociclib pricing through 2029, the modelled decline to $1.44B by 2029 is too pessimistic.
A scenario is your own assumptions layered on Ormeval’s cited baseline. We never change the baseline; save as many named scenarios as you like and click one to load it back later.
| Driver · 2026 | US | FR | DE | IT | ES | UK | JP | CN | Total | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Breast cancer incidence (2026) | 314k | 62k | 75k | 58k | 37k | 57k | 96k | 361k | 1.06M | GLOBOCAN 2022 |
New female breast-cancer cases per year; +0.5%/yr for ageing demographics. Shown for 2026: 2024 basis +1%/yr → ×1.010. Country-specific GLOBOCAN 2022 female breast-cancer incidence, cross-checked to national registries; +0.5%/yr ageing trend. Same incidence base as the Ibrance/Verzenio HR+/HER2- metastatic models, the three CDK4/6 inhibitors split this single pool. US ~310k (SEER/ACS); China large but with a lower per-capita rate. | ||||||||||
| × HR+/HER2- | 68% | 68% | 68% | 68% | 68% | 68% | 65% | 65% | share, not summed | SEER subtype |
Hormone-receptor-positive, HER2-negative subtype (the endocrine-driven majority of breast cancer). HR+/HER2- is ~65-70% of breast cancer across markets (verified). Slightly lower in East Asia (younger age structure, modestly higher HER2+ share). The largest single funnel gate, identical to the Ibrance/Verzenio metastatic models. | ||||||||||
| × Advanced/metastatic (1L-eligible)est | 24% | 24% | 24% | 24% | 24% | 25% | 26% | 28% | share, not summed | SEER + recurrence |
De novo Stage IV at diagnosis plus distant recurrence of earlier-stage disease entering 1L systemic therapy. The advanced-disease fraction combines de novo metastatic (~5-7% at diagnosis) with the larger flow of distant recurrences from previously-treated early HR+ disease, ~22-28% of HR+/HER2- cases reach the advanced 1L-eligible setting. East Asia slightly higher de novo share (later presentation). FLAGGED estimate; identical to the Ibrance metastatic model. | ||||||||||
| × Endocrine-sensitive 1L (CDK4/6i-eligible)est | 78% | 78% | 78% | 76% | 76% | 77% | 78% | 72% | share, not summed | endocrine-sensitivity lit. |
Endocrine-sensitive advanced patients suited to an endocrine backbone (AI or fulvestrant) + CDK4/6i, the MONALEESA population; excludes primary-endocrine-resistant and visceral-crisis patients sent to chemo. Of advanced HR+/HER2- patients, the CDK4/6i-eligible 1L (MONALEESA) population excludes primary-endocrine-resistant and visceral-crisis patients (→ chemotherapy). MONALEESA spans both AI (MONALEESA-2/-7) and fulvestrant (MONALEESA-3) backbones, so the eligible fraction is slightly broader than an AI-only gate. ~72-78% are endocrine-sensitive and CDK4/6i-appropriate at 1L. FLAGGED estimate. | ||||||||||
| × CDK4/6i-treated (access & uptake)est | 88% | 85% | 86% | 82% | 82% | 84% | 85% | 50% | share, not summed | CDK4/6i penetration |
Patients reached for, and receiving, a CDK4/6-inhibitor + endocrine regimen at 1L. Branded ribociclib UPTAKE of this reachable pool is the share row below (excluded here to avoid double-counting). Captures CDK4/6-inhibitor CLASS penetration of the eligible 1L pool, now very high (~80-90%) in access-rich Western markets and Japan, markedly lower in China where CDK4/6i access and reimbursement are still maturing (~50%). EXCLUDES ribociclib-vs-palbociclib/abemaciclib UPTAKE, which is the competitive share layer below. | ||||||||||
| = Addressable 1L CDK4/6i+endocrine pool | 35k | 6.7k | 8.2k | 5.9k | 3.7k | 6.3k | 11k | 24k | 100k | computed |
Incidence × the rates above, endocrine-sensitive HR+/HER2- advanced-breast-cancer patients reachable for a 1L CDK4/6-inhibitor + endocrine regimen this year (the pool the three CDK4/6is split). The 1L HR+/HER2- advanced/CDK4/6i-eligible pool is broadly stable across the window, slow incidence drift (+0.5%/yr) roughly offset by rising CDK4/6i access maturation in emerging tiers. Kisqali's GROWTH is therefore a SHARE-GAIN story, NOT pool expansion: its consistent OS evidence + favorable tolerability drive intra-class share GAIN (rising branded line in the share engine), taking metastatic 1L patients from generic-eroding Ibrance. The late-decade fade is the ~2031 ribociclib LOE, not pool shrinkage. (The separate NATALEE adjuvant pool is NOT included here.) | ||||||||||
| × Kisqali uptake (branded) | 27% | 28% | 27% | 28% | 28% | 28% | 18% | 11% | share, not summed | ASSUMED |
Per-market branded uptake of the addressable pool this year (launch ramp net of competitors & biosimilars). See the competitive curve below; pick a market for its access basis. | ||||||||||
| = Treated with Kisqali | 9.6k | 1.9k | 2.2k | 1.7k | 1.1k | 1.8k | 1.9k | 2.6k | 23k | computed · assumed input |
Addressable pool × branded uptake. | ||||||||||
| × Net price / patient (2026) | $122K | $42K | $47K | $40K | $38K | $42K | $38K | $14K | per patient, not summed | WAC · HTA · NRDL |
Oral until-progression CDK4/6i: per-patient revenue is the annual net cost while on-drug. US WAC ≈ $15k/mo (~$180k/yr list) net of ~25-30% oral-oncology gross-to-net → ~$130k/yr net (in line with the other CDK4/6 inhibitors). EU nets ~$40-50k. Japan ~$40k (biennial NHI cuts). China NRDL-negotiated → ~$15k/yr net. −3%/yr forward erosion ahead of the ~2031 LOE; held roughly flat before the 2024 base year. ALL net prices are ESTIMATES. SHOWN FOR 2026: the per-market figures in "Net pricing: assumptions & basis" below are the 2024 basis; this row applies -3%/yr from 2024 (×0.9409), so it is the same source value at a later date, not a second price. | ||||||||||
| = Net revenue / yrOutput | $1.18B | $79.0M | $104M | $65.5M | $39.8M | $75.7M | $72.7M | $37.3M | $1.65B | computed · assumed input |
Treated patients × realized net price. | ||||||||||
Regional revenue mix · 2026 modelled
Model estimate, sourced from the funnel table above
No reported competitor-share series exists for this setting, so every trajectory below is modelled from approval timing, label breadth and the funnel, not reported data.
In-class share, 1L HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer (CDK4/6i + endocrine): 8 modelled markets (US, EU5, JP, CN)
Each agent's share of the addressable 1L CDK4/6i pool. The branded-ribociclib line shows the 2017 second-mover launch ramp and then a RISING, share-GAINING trajectory, ribociclib's consistent significant OS (MONALEESA-2/-7/-3) and favorable tolerability take 1L metastatic share from generic-eroding palbociclib through the late-2020s, before the ~2031 ribociclib LOE. The gap below the top line is patients on rival CDK4/6 inhibitors, endocrine-only therapy, or chemo. Only the branded ribociclib line is monetized; the separate NATALEE adjuvant share is NOT shown here.
Share of the 100k-patient addressable 1L CDK4/6i+endocrine pool this regimen is modelled to treat, by year
Kisqali is modelled at 23% of this pool in 2026, peaking at 23% in 2028; each point of share is revenue on the chart above.
Scope: 8 modelled markets (US, EU5, JP, CN) · follows the market selector above
Rivals' share, same pool
Palbociclib (Ibrance) holds the largest rival share in 2026, 36% of the pool; that is the share Kisqali has to take or hold.
Rivals, rescaled - note the axis maximum (40%), which is smaller than the plot above. Same data, a linear axis of its own, so a low-share entrant is readable rather than a hairline on the baseline.
Launch ramp = market-by-market approval + reimbursement timing (US Mar 2017, EU 2017, Japan 2019, China 2020). Ribociclib GAINS intra-class share from ~2019 onward as its OS data accumulate (MONALEESA-7 2019, MONALEESA-2 final OS 2022) and palbociclib erodes (generic 2024, LOE ~2027); abemaciclib holds. Ribociclib generics timed to the ~2031 US LOE. Competitor trajectories are stated assumptions, not reported shares.
Readouts, approvals and LOE events for ribociclib and its rivals in this setting. Estimated timing is flagged; confirmed dates cited from Novartis disclosures and regulator databases.
Palbociclib (Ibrance) US main patent lapses ~Mar 2027, first-mover generic erosion; modelled metastatic share continues shifting to ribociclib
Modelled metastatic plateau (~$3.0B) before the LOE, gaining-share, not declining
US generic ribociclib from ~2031, branded erosion of the metastatic franchise begins
✓ = reported public fact, cited. Upcoming timing is estimated from company guidance and trial registries, a projection, not a commitment. Approvals = US (FDA) · EU (EMA) · Japan (PMDA) · China (NMPA). ● = ribociclib, competitor tag = a same-setting rival.
Residual unmet need: why the field stays alive
Even with ribociclib + endocrine therapy, HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer remains incurable, median OS is now ~64-68 months but essentially all patients eventually progress on CDK4/6 inhibition. There is no single validated post-CDK4/6i standard: the next-line continuum is contested by oral SERDs (elacestrant, camizestrant), PI3K/AKT-pathway agents (capivasertib, alpelisib), antibody-drug conjugates (Enhertu, Trodelvy, datopotamab-DXd) moving into HR+ disease, and CDK4/6i continuation/switch strategies. That post-CDK4/6 gap keeps the setting competitive and is where the next wave of HR+ metastatic value is being contested, even as Kisqali's OS leadership entrenches it as the preferred 1L CDK4/6i.
The synthesis for this indication, grounded in the cited trial, guideline and access facts above.
Rivals in this setting (1L HR+/HER2- advanced/metastatic breast cancer)
Swipe to explore →
| Rival / regimen | Developer | Position in this setting | Approved (date, trial, n) | Head start vs this regimen (months) | Failed endpoint | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palbociclib (Ibrance) (Live threat) | Pfizer | Live threatwhyFirst-mover metastatic CDK4/6 with a large installed base but NON-significant OS (PALOMA-2, HR 0.956); generic US 2024 / LOE ~2027, the share ribociclib is actively taking | not in the record | not in the record | OS (PALOMA-2, p=0.34) | PALOMA-2 (OS not significant) |
| Abemaciclib (Verzenio) (Live threat) | Eli Lilly | Live threatwhyHolds metastatic share (MONARCH-2/-3) and leads the adjuvant setting (monarchE); continuous oral dosing, the principal differentiated intra-class rival in metastatic disease | not in the record | not in the record | - | MONARCH-2/-3; monarchE |
| Dalpiciclib (Hengrui) (China rival) | Jiangsu Hengrui | China rivalwhyNMPA-approved domestic CDK4/6i; cheaper China 1L/2L share, structural China pressure on branded ribociclib | not in the record | not in the record | - | DAWNA-1/-2 (China) |
| Oral SERDs (elacestrant, camizestrant) (Watch) | Menarini-Stemline / AstraZeneca | WatchwhyPost-CDK4/6 ESR1-mutant 2L+ (and, with SERENA-6, 1L switch on ctDNA), reshapes the next-line HR+ continuum off CDK4/6 + endocrine therapy | not in the record | not in the record | - | EMERALD / SERENA-6 |
| Capivasertib / alpelisib + ADCs (Watch) | AstraZeneca / Novartis / AZ-Daiichi / Gilead | WatchwhyPathway agents and ADCs in post-CDK4/6 metastatic HR+ disease, pull later-line patients off endocrine-based regimens | not in the record | not in the record | - | CAPItello-291 / SOLAR-1 / DESTINY-Breast / TROPiCS |
| Ribociclib generics (Watch) | Generic (post-LOE) | WatchwhyUS generic ribociclib from ~2031 (composition-of-matter LOE), erosion of the branded molecule itself late-decade | not in the record | not in the record | - | US generic ribociclib ~2031 (est.) |
Not every rival is approved in every region, so a share here is the modelled position in the markets where it competes, not a global one.
Net pricing: assumptions & basis
Ribociclib is dosed 600 mg/day orally on a 21-days-on / 7-days-off schedule with an endocrine partner (letrozole, an AI, or fulvestrant), continued until progression, so per-patient revenue is the annual net cost while on-drug, not a fixed course. US WAC is ~$15k/month (~$180k/yr list); net prices below are per-market, net of country discounts.
Figures below are 2024 net prices, the basis the model is anchored on. The funnel applies -3%/yr from 2024, so the price it consumes for a later year is lower than the figure quoted here. Both come from this one value; the funnel row states the year it is showing.
Ribociclib is dosed 600 mg/day orally (21 days on / 7 off) plus an endocrine backbone, continued until disease progression, so per-patient revenue is modelled as the annual net cost while on treatment. US WAC ≈ $15k/month (~$180k/yr list) ⇒ ~$130k/yr net after ~25-30% oral-oncology gross-to-net, in line with palbociclib/abemaciclib (the class prices similarly). EU nets are HTA-negotiated: Germany AMNOG ~$50k, France ~$45k, UK NICE confidential PAS ~$45k, Italy AIFA ~$42k, Spain ~$40k (lowest Western). Japan: NHI-listed with biennial price cuts → ~$40k/yr. China is the standout, the NRDL-negotiated price is far below Western levels (~$15k/yr net); the low per-patient price paired with the large-but-access-limited pool makes China meaningful in absolute volume but low-margin per patient. −3%/yr forward net erosion ahead of the ~2031 LOE; held roughly flat before the 2024 base year. ALL net prices are ESTIMATES.
What it shows. The approval-to-reimbursement journey by market: when each payer granted access, on what terms (PD-L1 or comparator restrictions), and the lag between regulatory approval and reimbursed revenue.
What to look for. The access-lag column, approval is not revenue and some markets take a year or more. And the restrictions that narrow the eligible population below the full label.
Common misread. Assuming a US price or approval transfers to other markets. Ex-US payers benchmark against comparators and reference prices, so the net price and the covered population are usually smaller.
Rows ordered by access speed. The approval→reimbursement lag is commercially load-bearing, and it is not one number per drug: a monotherapy indication and a later combination extension file separately with a payer and can reach routine commissioning years apart, even within the same asset’s first-line setting.
| Market | HTA body | Decision | Access lag | PD-L1 | Comparator | Key outcome / MEA note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | FDA | Mar 2017 | reference | HR+/HER2- 1L + AI | Endocrine therapy alone | 1L +AI approval Mar 2017 (MONALEESA-2); MONALEESA-7 pre/peri 2018; MONALEESA-3 +fulvestrant 2019. Oral, Medicare Part D + broad commercial. List ~$15k/mo (~$180k/yr) ⇒ ~$130k/yr net after ~25-30% GTN. Composition-of-matter LOE ~2031 |
| Germany | G-BA / IQWiG | 2017 | ~0.4 yr | HR+/HER2- 1L + AI | Endocrine therapy alone | Reimbursed near launch; AMNOG net below list (~$50k/yr); densest EU access. OS data supported added-benefit ratings |
| France | HAS | 2017-2018 | ~0.8 yr | HR+/HER2- 1L + AI | Endocrine therapy alone | ATU/early access then reimbursement; SMR important / ASMR; net ~$45k/yr |
| UK | NICE | 2017-2018 | ~1 yr | HR+/HER2- 1L + AI | Endocrine therapy alone | Recommended (CDF then routine commissioning) with confidential PAS; net ~$45k/yr |
| Italy | AIFA | 2018 | ~1.2 yr | HR+/HER2- 1L + AI | Endocrine therapy alone | Class H; managed entry + regional formulary lag; net ~$42k/yr |
| Spain | SEFH / MoH | 2018-2019 | ~1.5 yr | HR+/HER2- 1L + AI | Endocrine therapy alone | Financed 1L; +17-region formulary lag; net ~$40k/yr (lowest Western) |
| Japan | PMDA / NHI | 2019 | ~1.5 yr | HR+/HER2- 1L + ET | Endocrine therapy alone | PMDA approval 2019 (later than US/EU); NHI-listed; biennial NHI price cuts → ~$40k/yr net |
| China | NMPA / NRDL | 2020 (NMPA); NRDL ~2021 | ~3 yr | HR+/HER2- 1L + AI | Endocrine therapy alone | NMPA 2020; NRDL-reimbursed → low unit price (~$15k/yr net). CDK4/6i access still maturing; competitive domestic field (dalpiciclib). Large pool, low per-patient price |
How much each assumption could move the forecast, one at a time, over the same cited baseline.
This is a sensitivity illustration, not a probability: it shows how far each assumption could move the forecast, never how likely it is.
Set a target and solve for one lever, what it would have to reach, benchmarked against real comparable launches.
One lever at a time: the other assumptions stay at baseline, so the trade-off stays visible.
A model that shows where its own risk is, not a number to trust. Never investment advice.
Every reported figure here traces to a public source below; the model's own assumptions are labelled where they appear.
Reported figures are public facts from company filings; the forward peak is Ormeval's own modelled estimate, not company guidance and not analyst consensus. Approval and readout dates are cross-checked against public regulator and company disclosures. Not investment advice.