Ormeval provides decision-support intelligence derived from public sources. It is not investment, medical, legal or regulatory advice, and states nothing about the value of any security. Forward figures are deterministic model estimates, not guidance.
Keytruda (pembrolizumab) · anti-PD-1 · Merck & Co.
This page covers the 1L advanced/metastatic melanoma indication only (KEYNOTE-006 monotherapy), not the adjuvant (KEYNOTE-054/-716), MSI-H, or non-melanoma Keytruda settings. See all Keytruda indications →
Two trials, two dates, one label sentence - resolved rather than flagged. Label 1.1: 'indicated for the treatment of patients with unresectable or metastatic melanoma.' The 2014-09-04 action was Keytruda's original ACCELERATED approval, based on KEYNOTE-001, and was narrowly scoped to melanoma with 'disease progression following ipilimumab and, if BRAF V600 mutation positive, a BRAF inhibitor'. KEYNOTE-006 then supported the 2015-12-18 conversion to traditional approval and the broadening to all unresectable/metastatic melanoma regardless of prior therapy - the population the current label sentence actually describes. since=2014 and usApproval 2014-09-04 mark the first melanoma approval (KEYNOTE-001); the full, unrestricted label rests on KEYNOTE-006's 2015-12-18 conversion. No longer accelerated; nothing withdrawn.
All markets
2026 net revenue · modelled melanoma slice
$2.48B
CONCLUDED · 2026 modelled net revenue - indication slice, all markets; Merck & Co. reports no indication revenue. Modelled net revenue · sourced funnel
No model change since the 20 Sep 2026 snapshot.
The 15-second read
This is a defense story, not a growth story. 1L advanced melanoma is the setting that made Keytruda, but the modelled curve already peaked at $2.97B in 2021 and grinds down to $1.02B by 2034, a mature ~10% slice of the franchise whose remaining value is measured in how slowly it is lost, not how fast it grows. The two forces that decide the number are the ~2028 US composition-of-matter LOE (EU ~2029) and how much 1L share BMS's Opdualag takes before biosimilars arrive. Subcutaneous Qlex is the only real lever Merck controls, and it defends administration volume rather than price.
Threats land:Biosimilars land on schedule in 2028 and follow the mAb precedent of 40-60% volume loss inside twelve months while Opdualag has already converted a differentiated slice of 1L, compressing the post-LOE floor well below the modelled ~$1.0B.
Modelled path:The setting stays saturated through 2027 at roughly $2.45B, then erodes from 2028 into the biosimilar cliff to ~$1.0B by 2034, with Qlex SC conversion retaining enough branded volume to keep the tail from going to zero.
Levers land:Qlex SC conversion moves a large share of patients off the IV molecule before biosimilars are interchangeable, and rising melanoma incidence in fair-skinned populations grows the pool enough to hold the branded line materially above the modelled 2030-2034 plateau.
The post-2028 branded retention rate, the modelled curve holds ~$1.0B of a ~$2.5B base through the biosimilar wave, which is an Ormeval scoping estimate of Qlex SC defense, not an observed erosion curve; mAb precedent (40-60% volume loss in year one) argues it is generous.
At a glance
Mechanism anti-PD-1
Clinical
Commercial
Development to approval
These are regulatory approval dates (FDA/EMA/NMPA/PMDA), not commercial launch; launch follows after pricing & reimbursement (see the access-lag column in the HTA table). All four regulators have approved this indication. Cross-checked against Merck & Co. disclosures and regulator databases.
KEYNOTE-006 is the foundation of the Keytruda melanoma franchise and the trial that proved single-agent anti-PD-1 could beat the prior IO standard (ipilimumab) on survival, the result that made pembrolizumab the reference 1L melanoma therapy worldwide and seeded its expansion into adjuvant and tumour-agnostic settings. At a ~$3.0B modelled peak it is a large, mature ~10% slice of the franchise. Strategically it is now a defense story: the setting is saturated, growth is modest, and the ~2028 US biologic LOE plus BMS's differentiated Opdualag are the principal forward pressures.
Advanced/metastatic melanoma, Stage III unresectable and Stage IV disease, historically ~5-10% 5-yr survival, was transformed by anti-PD-1 therapy. KEYNOTE-006 showed pembrolizumab beats ipilimumab on survival (5-yr OS 38.7% vs 31.0%; HR 0.73), with 10-yr data confirming durability. Pembrolizumab monotherapy is a global 1L standard, contested by nivolumab (CheckMate-067) and BMS's Opdualag (nivo+relatlimab); the setting is mature and exposed to the ~2028 biologic LOE.
Advanced melanoma is unresectable Stage III or metastatic Stage IV disease, historically among the most lethal solid tumours (~5-10% 5-yr survival pre-2011). The modern 1L setting bifurcates on PD-1-based immunotherapy: anti-PD-1 monotherapy (pembrolizumab or nivolumab), the nivolumab+ipilimumab doublet (higher response, more toxicity), and the newer nivolumab+relatlimab (Opdualag) LAG-3 doublet. BRAF-V600-mutant patients (~40-50%) may alternatively receive BRAF/MEK targeted therapy, but IO is increasingly first. Across the 8 modelled markets ~55,000 patients/year are 1L-advanced-melanoma-eligible, the pool this model sizes, with the US, UK and Australia-like fair-skinned populations carrying the highest incidence.
KEYNOTE-006 established pembrolizumab as the first-line standard of care for advanced melanoma, beating ipilimumab on survival and defining anti-PD-1 monotherapy as the backbone of modern melanoma treatment. Ten-year follow-up confirms a durable, practice-defining survival advantage (OS HR ~0.71-0.73), one of the longest-followed positive immuno-oncology datasets and the indication that built Keytruda's melanoma franchise.
BRAF V600 testing is recommended at diagnosis. IO is increasingly preferred 1L even in BRAF-mutant patients (durability), but targeted therapy remains an option, a partial leak from the IO pool. PD-L1 does not gate eligibility in melanoma.
Randomized, open-label, controlled Phase 3; n=834; unresectable Stage III or metastatic melanoma, ≤1 prior therapy (no prior ipilimumab); pembrolizumab 10 mg/kg q2w or q3w vs ipilimumab 3 mg/kg q3w ×4. Co-primary endpoints PFS and OS. BRAF-mutant and wild-type both eligible.
Load-bearing 4/5 sourced. ASSUMED uptake is yours to change.
This indication only, not Keytruda's total revenue
First-line unresectable or metastatic melanoma, pembrolizumab monotherapy (KEYNOTE-006), the anti-PD-1 standard of care that displaced ipilimumab. Both BRAF-mutant and wild-type patients are eligible; the branded Keytruda line is modelled as the monetized slice.
Reported actuals are always drawn and need no chip: a cited reported figure is a fact, not a claim. Everything forward of them is one of the 4 kinds above.
$2.48B
8 modelled markets (US, EU5, JP, CN) · modelled net revenue · 2026 (forecast)
Peak $2.97B · launch 2015 → 2034
modeled history (left of today)·click any year to decompose its funnel below.
Measured band: none - no measured band: n<8
Bull / bear elsewhere in the product are a sensitivity (fixed multipliers), not this band.
Pre-2026 figures are MODELLED (no indication × country actuals are reported) and calibrated to Merck's reported Keytruda franchise (FY2025 ≈ $31.7B): the 1L advanced-melanoma slice rises from the 2015 launch to a mature ~$3.0B plateau (~10% of the franchise), then erodes from ~2028 into the biosimilar cliff, partly defended by SC Qlex. The 'today' marker splits modelled history from forecast.
No reported anchor exists at this grain: companies publish this asset as one product line and never split it by indication × country, so every year above is modelled, including the years already past. The claims below are scored against reported actuals wherever a program has them.
A forecast year closes when an actual is reported for it. A miss is the distance from that actual, signed as the claim fell: under it, or over it.
| Claim | Closed years | Worst miss | Worst miss % |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ormeval modelMODELLED · Ormeval · live | - | no closed year yet | - |
A superseded team version keeps its own row: what it was off by is still a fact about that version. A row with no closed year is not a good score.
What it shows. A modelled base-case net-revenue curve for this indication, year by year, split at 'today' into modelled history and forecast, with the branded curve shown against its in-class rivals.
What to look for. The peak year and how steep the decline is after loss of exclusivity, and where a rival's curve crosses yours, that crossing is the share the model has you losing.
Common misread. Reading the pre-'today' portion as reported actuals (it's modelled), or treating the base case as a company target. It is one deterministic Ormeval-modelled scenario anchored to cited actuals, not guidance and not analyst consensus.
Key model assumptions · The headline rests on two soft inputs: pembrolizumab's branded uptake share of the addressable 1L-melanoma-IO pool (all pre-2026 history is MODELLED, calibrated to the reported Keytruda franchise rather than observed indication actuals) and the annual net price per market against a ~$205k/yr US list.
The decline is defended, not certain
The decline is well defended, the ~2028 US LOE is a dated, verified event and biosimilar erosion of a mature mAb is the most predictable pattern in the industry, but its depth is not certain, because Qlex SC (approved Sep 2025) has no erosion precedent and the pace of interchangeability substitution in melanoma specifically is unobserved.
What would change our mind
If Opdualag (nivolumab+relatlimab) captures a materially larger share of 1L melanoma than modelled before the 2028 US LOE, the pre-cliff plateau of ~$2.45B through 2027 is too high and the whole curve shifts down early; conversely, if US biosimilar entry slips past 2028 on litigation or manufacturing, the 2028-2030 collapse from $2.13B to $1.22B is mis-dated and the base case is wrong on timing rather than level.
A scenario is your own assumptions layered on Ormeval’s cited baseline. We never change the baseline; save as many named scenarios as you like and click one to load it back later.
| Driver · 2026 | US | FR | DE | IT | ES | UK | JP | CN | Total | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Melanoma incidence (2026) | 103k | 18k | 34k | 13k | 7.1k | 21k | 4.7k | 8.2k | 210k | GLOBOCAN 2022 |
New cutaneous melanoma cases per year; +1.5%/yr (rising in fair-skinned, ageing populations). Shown for 2026: 2024 basis +2%/yr → ×1.030. Country-specific GLOBOCAN 2022 melanoma incidence; high in fair-skinned Western populations (US, UK, Germany), far lower in East Asia where melanoma is rarer and predominantly acral/mucosal. +1.5%/yr rising trend. | ||||||||||
| × Advanced/metastatic (unresectable III + IV)est | 30% | 30% | 30% | 30% | 31% | 31% | 36% | 36% | share, not summed | SEER · registries |
Unresectable Stage III + Stage IV at diagnosis or progression, the 1L systemic-eligible fraction. Most melanoma presents localized and curable by excision; the advanced/metastatic systemic-eligible pool combines de-novo Stage IV (~4-5%) plus unresectable Stage III and the substantial flow of earlier-stage (II/III) recurrences that progress to advanced disease over the disease course, ~20% of incident cases ultimately reach 1L systemic IO. Higher where acral/mucosal subtypes (later presentation) dominate (Japan/China). | ||||||||||
| × Fit for & receiving 1L systemic IOest | 82% | 80% | 80% | 78% | 78% | 80% | 55% | 45% | share, not summed | RW IO uptake |
Of advanced patients, those fit for and starting 1L IO-based systemic therapy (excludes BSC, frail, BRAF-targeted-first). Branded pembrolizumab UPTAKE is the share row below. Captures fitness for and receipt of 1L IO-based systemic therapy, excluding best-supportive-care, frail/elderly untreated, and BRAF-mutant patients who go to targeted therapy first (~a partial leak). Near-complete in Western systems (~0.78-0.82); lower in Japan/China where acral/mucosal melanoma responds less to IO and access is narrower (~0.5-0.6). Excludes pembrolizumab UPTAKE (the competitive share layer below). | ||||||||||
| = Addressable 1L advanced-melanoma IO pool | 25k | 4.4k | 8.1k | 3.1k | 1.7k | 5.3k | 938 | 1.3k | 50k | computed |
Incidence × the rates above, advanced-melanoma patients reachable for 1L IO-based therapy this year. The advanced-melanoma 1L pool is broadly stable to mildly rising, incidence growth (+1.5%/yr) roughly offset by adjuvant IO (KEYNOTE-054/-716) treating earlier-stage patients before they recur into the advanced setting (intra-franchise substitution). Modelled flat for simplicity; growth is in price/penetration, not pool. | ||||||||||
| × Keytruda uptake (branded) | 38% | 39% | 40% | 39% | 39% | 39% | 31% | 29% | share, not summed | ASSUMED |
Per-market branded uptake of the addressable pool this year (launch ramp net of competitors & biosimilars). See the competitive curve below; pick a market for its access basis. | ||||||||||
| = Treated with Keytruda | 9.6k | 1.7k | 3.2k | 1.2k | 663 | 2.1k | 290 | 384 | 19k | computed · assumed input |
Addressable pool × branded uptake. | ||||||||||
| × Net price / patient (2026) | $173K | $91K | $96K | $86K | $77K | $85K | $67K | $24K | per patient, not summed | ASP · HTA · NHI |
Until-progression IO: per-patient revenue is the annual net cost while on-drug. US ASP ≈ $11.8k/200mg q3w (~$205k/yr list) net of ~10-15% GTN → ~$180k/yr. EU nets ~$80-100k. Japan ~$70k. China ~$25k. −2%/yr forward erosion; held flat before 2024. SHOWN FOR 2026: the per-market figures in "Net pricing: assumptions & basis" below are the 2024 basis; this row applies -2%/yr from 2024 (×0.9604), so it is the same source value at a later date, not a second price. | ||||||||||
| = Net revenue / yrOutput | $1.66B | $156M | $311M | $102M | $50.9M | $176M | $19.5M | $9.2M | $2.48B | computed · assumed input |
Treated patients × realized net price. | ||||||||||
Regional revenue mix · 2026 modelled
Model estimate, sourced from the funnel table above
No reported competitor-share series exists for this setting, so every trajectory below is modelled from approval timing, label breadth and the funnel, not reported data.
In-class share, 1L advanced melanoma immunotherapy: 8 modelled markets (US, EU5, JP, CN)
Each agent's share of the addressable 1L-melanoma-IO pool. The branded-pembrolizumab line shows the launch ramp to 1L dominance, then the ~2028 LOE biosimilar erosion; the gap below the top line is patients on competing IO regimens, BRAF-targeted therapy, or untreated. The branded pembrolizumab line (IV + SC Qlex) is the only line this model monetizes.
Share of the 50k-patient addressable 1L advanced-melanoma IO pool this regimen is modelled to treat, by year
Keytruda is modelled at 38% of this pool in 2026, peaking at 46% in 2021; each point of share is revenue on the chart above.
Scope: 8 modelled markets (US, EU5, JP, CN) · follows the market selector above
Rivals' share, same pool
Nivolumab ± ipilimumab holds the largest rival share in 2026, 15% of the pool; that is the share Keytruda has to take or hold.
Rivals, rescaled - note the axis maximum (30%), which is smaller than the plot above. Same data, a linear axis of its own, so a low-share entrant is readable rather than a hairline on the baseline.
Launch ramp = market-by-market approval + reimbursement timing (US 1L Dec 2015); nivolumab/nivo+ipi (CheckMate-067) and Opdualag (RELATIVITY-047, US 2022) take in-class share; pembrolizumab biosimilars timed to the ~2028 US / ~2029 EU LOE. Competitor trajectories are stated assumptions, not reported shares.
Readouts, approvals and LOE events for pembrolizumab and its rivals in this setting. Estimated timing is flagged; confirmed dates cited from Merck & Co. disclosures and regulator databases.
Composition-of-matter expiry (~2028); pembrolizumab biosimilars erode the branded melanoma line
EU biosimilar entry; SC Qlex conversion mitigates IV-biosimilar share loss
✓ = reported public fact, cited. Upcoming timing is estimated from company guidance and trial registries, a projection, not a commitment. Approvals = US (FDA) · EU (EMA) · Japan (PMDA) · China (NMPA). ● = pembrolizumab, competitor tag = a same-setting rival.
Residual unmet need: why the field stays alive
Even with modern IO, ~55-60% of advanced-melanoma patients still die within a decade (10-yr OS ~34% on pembrolizumab in KEYNOTE-006). Primary and acquired anti-PD-1 resistance is common, brain metastases and mucosal/acral subtypes respond poorly, and there is no established post-IO standard. That residual mortality drives continued development of LAG-3 (Opdualag), TIL therapy (lifileucel), and novel combinations, keeping the setting competitive despite pembrolizumab's entrenched 1L position.
The synthesis for this indication, grounded in the cited trial, guideline and access facts above.
Rivals in this setting (1L advanced/metastatic melanoma)
Swipe to explore →
| Rival / regimen | Developer | Position in this setting | Approved (date, trial, n) | Head start vs this regimen (months) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nivolumab + relatlimab (Opdualag) (Live threat) | Bristol Myers Squibb | Live threatwhyFDA-approved 2022; differentiated low-toxicity LAG-3 doublet, the principal 1L rival to pembrolizumab monotherapy | not in the record | not in the record | RELATIVITY-047 (NEJM 2022) |
| Nivolumab ± ipilimumab (Live threat) | Bristol Myers Squibb | Live threatwhyApproved 1L; nivo monotherapy co-leads with pembrolizumab, nivo+ipi the high-response doublet, the direct PD-1 competitor | not in the record | not in the record | RELATIVITY-047 (NEJM 2022) |
| BRAF/MEK targeted therapy (Watch) | Novartis / Roche / Pfizer | WatchwhyAlternative 1L for BRAF-V600-mutant patients (~40-50%), a partial leak from the IO pool | not in the record | not in the record | COMBI-d/v, coBRIM, COLUMBUS |
| Lifileucel (Amtagvi) (Watch) | Iovance | WatchwhyApproved post-anti-PD-1 advanced melanoma, erodes post-progression value, not 1L share | not in the record | not in the record | C-144-01 |
| Toripalimab (domestic China) (China rival) | Junshi | China rivalwhyChina-approved for melanoma incl. acral subtype, domestic China share pressure | not in the record | not in the record | POLARIS (melanoma, incl. acral) |
| Keytruda Qlex (subcutaneous) (Merck & Co. pipeline) | Merck | Merck & Co. pipelinewhyFDA-approved Sep 2025, intra-brand LOE/convenience defense (monetized within the branded line) | Sep 2025, - | -132 (after) | Keytruda Qlex (subcutaneous) FDA approval (Merck, Sep 2025) |
| Pembrolizumab biosimilars (Watch) | Generic (post-LOE) | WatchwhyUS LOE ~2028; EU ~2029, steep erosion of the branded molecule | not in the record | not in the record | pembrolizumab composition-of-matter LOE ~2028 (US) |
Not every rival is approved in every region, so a share here is the modelled position in the markets where it competes, not a global one.
Net pricing: assumptions & basis
Pembrolizumab is dosed 200 mg q3w (or 400 mg q6w) IV, or via subcutaneous Qlex (Sep 2025), until progression or 35 cycles (~2-year cap), so per-patient revenue is the annual net cost while on-drug. US ASP ~$11.8k per 200 mg (~$205k/yr list); net prices below are per-market.
Figures below are 2024 net prices, the basis the model is anchored on. The funnel applies -2%/yr from 2024, so the price it consumes for a later year is lower than the figure quoted here. Both come from this one value; the funnel row states the year it is showing.
Pembrolizumab is dosed 200 mg q3w (or 400 mg q6w) IV, or as subcutaneous Qlex (FDA Sep 2025), until progression or a 35-cycle (~2-year) cap, so per-patient revenue is the annual net cost while on treatment. US ASP ≈ $11,795/200 mg q3w (~$205k/yr list) ⇒ ~$180k/yr net after ~10-15% physician-administered-biologic gross-to-net. EU nets are HTA-negotiated (~$80-100k). Japan NHI-listed with biennial cuts (~$70k). China is a small, access-limited market (~$25k/yr net). −2%/yr forward net erosion; held flat before 2024. ALL net prices are ESTIMATES.
What it shows. The approval-to-reimbursement journey by market: when each payer granted access, on what terms (PD-L1 or comparator restrictions), and the lag between regulatory approval and reimbursed revenue.
What to look for. The access-lag column, approval is not revenue and some markets take a year or more. And the restrictions that narrow the eligible population below the full label.
Common misread. Assuming a US price or approval transfers to other markets. Ex-US payers benchmark against comparators and reference prices, so the net price and the covered population are usually smaller.
Rows ordered by access speed. The approval→reimbursement lag is commercially load-bearing, and it is not one number per drug: a monotherapy indication and a later combination extension file separately with a payer and can reach routine commissioning years apart, even within the same asset’s first-line setting.
| Market | HTA body | Decision | Access lag | PD-L1 | Comparator | Key outcome / MEA note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | FDA | Sep 2014 (accel) → Dec 2015 (1L) | reference | None | Ipilimumab | Medicare Part B (J9271); broad commercial; ~10-15% gross-to-net |
| Germany | G-BA / IQWiG | 2015-2016 | ~0.4 yr | None | Ipilimumab | Reimbursed at launch; AMNOG net below list; densest EU access |
| UK | NICE TA366 | Nov 2015 | ~0.8 yr | None | Ipilimumab | Recommended (CDF then routine); confidential PAS |
| France | HAS | 2015-2016 | ~0.6 yr | None | Ipilimumab | ATU early access then reimbursement; SMR important |
| Italy | AIFA | 2016-2017 | ~1.5 yr | None | Ipilimumab | Class H; managed entry; +regional formulary lag |
| Spain | SEFH / MoH | 2016-2017 | ~2 yr | None | Ipilimumab | Financed 1L; +17-region formulary lag |
| Japan | PMDA / NHI | 2016-2017 | ~0.6 yr | None | Chemo/ipilimumab | NHI-listed; high acral/mucosal subtype fraction; biennial price cuts |
| China | NMPA / NRDL | 2018-2019 | ~2 yr | None | Chemo | NMPA-approved; melanoma is predominantly acral/mucosal (less IO-responsive); modest access |
How much each assumption could move the forecast, one at a time, over the same cited baseline.
This is a sensitivity illustration, not a probability: it shows how far each assumption could move the forecast, never how likely it is.
Set a target and solve for one lever, what it would have to reach, benchmarked against real comparable launches.
One lever at a time: the other assumptions stay at baseline, so the trade-off stays visible.
A model that shows where its own risk is, not a number to trust. Never investment advice.
Cite this forecast as recorded on Q2 2026 → A permanent record of these figures that does not change when the model does.
Every reported figure here traces to a public source below; the model's own assumptions are labelled where they appear.
Reported figures are public facts from company filings; the forward peak is Ormeval's own modelled estimate, not company guidance and not analyst consensus. Approval and readout dates are cross-checked against public regulator and company disclosures. Not investment advice.